What’s for dinner?

What’s for dinner?

Every weekend I do two things.  I make a menu for the week and go grocery shopping.  I wash all my clothes and pick out and iron my work clothes for the coming week.  Some people think I’m nuts and some think I’m smart.

I’ve been doing this for years.  It’s something I do to prevent having to make decisions when I’m at my worst – in the morning and after a long day at work.  No pulling out the iron because I realize my pants are wrinkled.  No hunting through the closet for that red shirt.  When I get home I don’t have to figure out what to cook and then find out I’m missing an ingredient and have to come up with plan B.

I also pack my lunch each night.  I eat the same breakfast each weekday morning.  I eat the same snack each day too.  Not that I’m totally inflexible.  If my boss declares a casual day, I’ll pull out my jeans faster than you can say Levi’s. And I’ll never turn down an invitation to go out to dinner!

These pre-decisions make my life easier and simpler.  These few minutes of planning – maybe an hour altogether – save me a lot of time and reduce my stress level during the week.  I leave my house each morning cool, calm and collected and ready to face my day at work.  When I get home, I can decompress and share time with my guy because dinner isn’t on my mind.

This easy, little technique really is empowering, costs nothing more than a little time and creates space in my life.  Maybe it can help you too.  And if you try it, I’d love to hear how it worked out for you.

predecide

Leave a comment